Forefoot Protection Socks | Neuropathy, Diabetic Foot Ulcers | GlideWear
Rated 3.80 out of 5 based on 5 customer ratings
(5 customer reviews)

$39.99

  • Get lasting protection from the harmful friction & shear that cause diabetic foot ulcers, blisters, calluses, and skin breakdown on your forefoot (ball of your foot and toes).
  • Can be worn with diabetic shoes, orthotics, offloading walking boots (including CROW), and standard footwear.
  • Breathable fabric prevents moisture and heat buildup against the skin.
  • Comfortable, non-binding top fits comfortably and accommodates edema (swelling).
  • Durable, machine washable. Made in the USA. Wash them with your other laundry.
  • Choose from white or black SmartKnit Sock color (GlideWear low friction zone is always black). Sold in pairs.
Clear

Description

Doctor Recommended Foot Protection

GlideWear Forefoot Protection Socks are designed for people who have neuropathy, diabetic foot ulcers, toe blisters, and calluses. They use a patented technology to protect your toes and balls of your feet (metatarsal heads) from the friction and shear that cause ulcers, calluses, blisters, and wounds.

“I recommend GlideWear socks to at least five patients every day. Strategic friction reduction is a game changer for many patients with podiatric conditions that are not entirely alleviated by traditional treatments… Patients can tell right away that they are working.”

Troy J. Boffeli, DPM, FACFAS
Department Chair and Residency Program Director
HealthPartners Medical Group and Regions Hospital, St. Paul, MN

Why Protecting Diabetic Feet is So Important

Diabetic foot ulcers can lead to months in a walking boot or, worse, partial foot amputation. Up to 70% of people with diabetes have or will develop nerve damage (“neuropathy”), which puts them at higher risk for an ulcer. Ulcers, which often start out as calluses or redness, can go from non-existent to debilitating in a very short time. They’re especially common in people with reduced sensation in their feet. If you can’t feel a pebble in your shoe, for example, the pebble can cause rubbing, skin breakdown, or even an ulcer before you’ve even noticed it’s there.

Diabetic foot ulcers can reduce mobility and quality of life. A diabetic foot ulcer can take months — or even years — to heal. During those months, someone with a diabetic foot ulcers is often in walking boot or cast. Left untreated, diabetic foot ulcers can lead to amputation. Being proactive about foot care is essential. Protect your feet with GlideWear Forefoot Protection Socks

Invest in Proactive Protection

The Forefoot Protection sock combines the comfort of a seamless SmartKnit sock with the protection of GlideWear’s patented, low-friction fabric. GlideWear is a two-layer fabric that absorbs harmful friction and shear between its layers, protecting your feet. The non-binding top of the sock fits comfortably around the ankle and works well for people with diabetes. Seams are very flat and strategically placed away from high-risk areas. The result is a comfortable, breathable sock that protects your forefeet from the friction and shear that causes ulcers, blisters, and calluses.

“I have problems with calluses and I am diabetic with neuropathy. I would try anything to help my feet and what a difference these socks make. My feet feel so good, they are so comfortable! Love them!

Sharon S., GlideWear Forefoot Sock customer

When you buy GlideWear Forefoot Protection Socks, you’re not just buying a pair of socks. You’re buying a tool that reduces the friction and shear that cause debilitating diabetic foot ulcers.

30-Day, 100% Money Back Guarantee & 1 Year Warranty

Try GlideWear socks, risk-free. Put GlideWear to the test. Use your GlideWear Forefoot Protection for up to 30 days, risk free. If for any reason you are not completely satisfied, return your GlideWear products for a full refund. We guarantee that GlideWear products will be free from defects in workmanship and materials under normal use for a period of one year from the original purchase date. Read all guarantee and warranty information.

Don’t wait. Invest in a long-term skin protection solution – buy GlideWear Forefoot Protection Socks today.

Clinical Evidence

Note: Contain images of wounds.

Questions? Give Us a Call

We have an expert team of clinical and customer service specialists to answer any question you have about size, fit, and whether the Forefoot Protection Sock is right for you. Call us at 763-795-0057 or email info@glidewear.com.

Product Instructions

Use daily to protect against the friction and shear that lead to skin breakdown and ulceration. Contact your healthcare provider if you have any questions about the use of this product.

Size Chart

Tech Specs

Made with pride in the USA from 75% Polyester, 19% Nylon, 6% Spandex (latex-free). Package contains TWO GlideWear Forefoot Protection Socks.

Additional information

Weight 0.625 lbs
Dimensions 10 x 7 x 2 in
Size

, , ,

Gender

Color

,

5 reviews for GlideWear Forefoot Protection Socks | Foot Ulcers, Calluses (Pair)

  1. Rated 5 out of 5

    (verified owner)

    i bought the forefoot socks..i think they are awesome..i have problems with callouses and i am diabetic with neuropathy. i would try anything to help my feet and what a difference these socks make. my feet feel so good, they are so comfortable !!! love them !! could you make them in a crew length? so glad i tried Glidewear !!!

    • (verified owner)

      Thank you for the feedback! Glad to hear the socks are making a difference and that your feet feel so good!! We are in the prototyping stages of a ankle sock.

  2. Rated 4 out of 5

    (verified owner)

    These are still new to me. I tried the socks in my roller skates but the flat seam was right on my bunion and my rotated little toe, and skates are pretty snug, so I switched back to regular socks quickly. I’m a little concerned about the lack of purchase my toes can get during a walk with the two layers sliding, but haven’t tried that yet. I’m sharing a pair with my brother who had a foot injured a few years ago and still has problems. I may also share a pair with a friend who has RA and very sensitive feet. These are sized nicely and extremely well made. They may not be for me, though.

    • (verified owner)

      Hello Carol,
      Thank you for the review of the Forefoot Sock! Glad to see you are sharing and recommending the sock with the others around you!! Since it sounds like you have some friction in your roller skates and the socks are too bulky, we would recommend trying our ENGO product. This is a thin layer of PTFE that adheres to your skate to help with blisters and friction. Again, thank you for your purchase and let us know if you have any other questions.

  3. Rated 2 out of 5

    (verified owner)

    My podiatrist recommended it because of a blister I developed on my foot because of a brace I have to wear. I thought it was more like a gel-sock (based on my podiatrist’s recommendation), but it was a thin sheer layer instead. I tried it for a day but went back to a regular sock since it had a bit more padding/cushion between my foot and the brace. An orthotics place already placed a “shear guard” on my brace, which seems to have the same function this sock is supposed to have. I find a regular sock better than the GlideWear sock. Also, I need a longer sock to come up my entire calf because I have a strap on the brace, and I’d like a sock high enough that I don’t have to pull the strap around on my skin. So this product might work for some folks, depending on the need, but it didn’t really work for me.

    • (verified owner)

      Thank you for your feedback! I am assuming the reason why your Podiatrist recommended the sock, is due to concerning potential pressure ulcer? A pressure ulcer is “a localized injury to the skin and/or underlying tissue, usually over a bony prominence, as a result of pressure, or pressure in combination with shear”. GlideWear is dual-layer, not single layer, low-friction fabric that absorbs friction and shear forces between the two fabric layers. This dual-layer fabric allows the skin to glide comfortably when the user moves by absorbing those potentially harmful friction and shear forces. Contrary to popular belief, many people think more padding will help with pressure but, pressure is just one of many factors that causes pressure ulcers, as noted above. If you already have ShearBan in the same location of your problem area, then yes you are correct, they share the same function and no need to use both.

  4. Rated 3 out of 5

    (verified owner)

    I was suggested to give these GlideWear Forefront socks a try for painful bunions. I’m in my 30s and do not have a lot of feet issues other than the pain I get from my bunions that are actually mild, but I have a lot of pain from them regardless. I wore the white forefront socks for about 12 hours at work (wearing sneakers/running shoes with them). Unfortunately, I can’t find it within myself to keep wearing them because the entire upper and lower forefoot slipperiness actually makes me more conscious of my feet and walking. To me, it’s an unsettling feeling to walk on and too distracting for me to keep wearing it in hopes that perhaps I’d be desensitized to it over time. Secondly, because the seam line attaching the black fabric to the white cotton fabric is a thick, rough seam running circumferentially around the feet, it feels like I have a constant wrinkle in both of my feet. Thirdly, the elastic band at the top of the cotton sock seams cheap and makes faint cracking sounds when I pull them over my ankles. The elastic just seems brittle and seems as though it will not last a year.

    With that being said, I still think this is a great concept and many others have found them helpful. The black shear fabric “breathed” well so my toes did not get sweaty and it also feels very nice. So, I would still suggest these for others to try. If GlideWear ever wants to invest in making socks particularly for just bunions: have the shear black fabric limited to just the great metatarsal joint region, sewn to a nicer cotton fabric, and in a more seamless fashion, and be made in ankle-cut and crew-cut heights then I might reconsider purchasing these again.

    • (verified owner)

      Thank you for your feedback Connie and recommending our GlideWear socks to others to try! We are happy to hear the word is getting out about our socks and that you think it’s a great concept.

      A few comments about your feedback: The low-friction GlideWear zone is used strategically to provide protection without sacrificing stability. It may take time, for some people, to get used to the feeling since it’s different than a traditional sock. Also, the style of seam that we use is designed to be as flat as possible. New GlideWear socks do make a crackly sound when they are first stretched out but it has no adverse effects with the socks. Unfortunately, we are limited to the height of the socks since we purchase them from SmartKnit.

      In conclusion, we do have a suggestion for you, that you try our ShearBan Patches for more targeted area. https://tamarackhti.com/shop/shearban-foot-blister-pack/

      Rachel Mattson,
      Tamarack Habilitation Technologies

  5. Rated 5 out of 5

    (verified owner)

    I’ve worn these socks now for a couple months to give a fair assessment and must say at first it was like walking on a satin pillowcase. After some “mileage” I must say this is a nice sock. Adding an over sock helps and I’ve seen a difference in my feet health!! Right now I’m hoping for a low sport model for summer wear as I am a walker. The seams are beautifully done but can gather & fold on a smaller foot. It might be possible to knit the toe in one piece if the cast on is at the top & the machine knits in a circle. This is a VERY nice product which Irecommend.

    • (verified owner)

      Hello Jean,
      Thank you for your review and feedback! We are excited to hear that you have seen a difference in the health of your feet!! Currently, we do not have plans for a low-cut sock but we will keep your feedback and potentially in the future will offer this type of GlideWear sock. As far as the seams of the sock, we would prefer to avoid the gathering and folding, but we would be more concerned about the socks being too tight, especially against toe tips. Regarding the idea for circular knitting, it is a great idea and we have explored that, with no solution. Thank you again, for recommending our product.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…